web analytics
Your Independent Alternative!

Board of Governors Names New University Trustees

The Florida Board of Governors named 21 people to the state's 11 boards of trustees Thursday, including former House Speaker and Sen. Daniel Webster.

Webster, who served in the House and Senate from 1980 to 2008, was was nominated and approved to become one of the newest trustees for the University of Central Florida. Webster is the owner of Webster Air Conditioning and Heating, Inc., but worked on education issues while in the Legislature. He is a graduate of Georgia Tech.

“While the Legislature encompasses a wide variety of issues, the most important is education,” Webster wrote on his application.

Other high profile new trustees include Board of Governors member Carolyn Roberts, who chaired the chancellor search committee that named Frank Brogan to the top job in the university system, and Florida AT&T President Marshall Criser III. Both were named to vacancies at University of Florida.

Additionally, former state Rep. Marjorie Turnbull was named to the Florida A & M Board of Trustees, and former New York Stock Exchange President William R. Johnston was named to the New College board.

Each university's 13-member board is responsible for setting the university budget, and for implementing new educational programs at the various institutions.

Brogan said in a release that the board reviewed more than 200 applicants from throughout the state in attempting to fill the 21 open slots.

“The State University System is honored to know that so many accomplished individuals want to contribute their time and energy to the greater success of our institutions and to our efforts to reshape Florida’s economy,” Brogan said in the release.

The new trustees will join their respective boards on Jan. 6 and serve five-year terms.

The full list of new trustees approved by the board Thursday is listed below.

University of Florida
Marshall M. Criser III of Coral Gables. Criser is president of ATT Florida.
Carolyn King Roberts of Ocala. Roberts is president of Roberts Real Estate Inc. and chaired the chancellor search committee. Her BOG term expires in January.

Florida State University
Mark Hillis of Winter Park is a retired executive with SunTrust Bank and a former member of the FSU Foundation’s Board of Trustees.
-Margaret A. Rolando of Coral Gables is a partner with the law firm of Shutts & Bowen LLP in Miami. She is a member and former chair of the Board of Visitors of the FSU College of Law.

Florida A&M University
Marjorie Turnbull of Tallahassee is a former member of the Florida House of Representatives and a former chair of the Leon County Commission.

University of South Florida
Brian D. Lamb of Tampa is an executive with Fifth Third Bank in Tampa and is a member of the Investment Committee of the University of South Florida Foundation.
Harold W. Mullis Jr. of Tampa is president of the law firm of Trenam, Kemker, Scharf, Barkin, Frye, O'Neill & Mullis, P.A., and is a past chairman of the board of Tampa General Hospital.

Florida International University
Michael M. Adler of Miami Beach is chairman and CEO of Adler Group Inc., a real-estate development firm, and is chair of the Development Committee of the FIU Foundation.
Joseph L. Caruncho of Palmetto Bay is chief executive officer of Preferred Care Partners and is chair of the FIU Foundation.

Florida Atlantic University
Anthony K. Barbar of Boca Raton is president and CEO of Barbar & Associates, LLC., a real-estate brokerage and advisory company, and is reappointed as a member of the FAU Board of Trustees.
David S. Feder of Boca Raton is managing director of the Fairmont Turnberry Isle Resort in Aventura and is reappointed as a member of the FAU Board of Trustees.

University of Central Florida
Raymond Gilley of Orlando is president and CEO of the Metro Orlando Economic Development Commission.
Daniel A. Webster of Orlando is owner and president of Webster Air Conditioning & Heating Inc. He is a former member of the Florida House of Representatives and Florida Senate.

University of West Florida
Stephen C. Riggs of Destin is a partner in the CPA firm of Carr, Riggs & Ingram and is a member of the Board of Directors of the UWF Foundation.
- Bentina C. Terry of Pensacola is vice president for external affairs and corporate services at Gulf Power Co. She is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Florida Chamber Foundation.

University of North Florida
A. Hugh Greene of Jacksonville is president and CEO of Baptist Health and is reappointed as a member of the University of North Florida Board of Trustees.
Oscar Munoz of Ponte Vedra Beach is executive vice president and chief financial officer of CSX Corp.

Florida Gulf Coast University
Ann H. Hamilton of Fort Myers. Hamilton’s family was instrumental in getting FGCU off the ground as the 10th state university.
Robbie B. Roepstorff of Sanibel Island is founder and president of Edison National Bank.

New College of Florida
William R. Johnston of Bradenton is a retired president of the New York Stock Exchange.
- Felice C. Schulaner of Siesta Key is a retired human resources executive with Coach Inc. and is chair of the Major Gifts Committee of the New College Foundation.

Comments are closed.