web analytics
Your Independent Alternative!

Favre, Pro Bowl Go Hand in Hand

Brett Favre hasn't reached the Super Bowl in a dozen years. But Pro Bowl berths follow wherever he goes.

Favre was one of a league-high eight Minnesota Vikings named to the 2010 Pro Bowl on Tuesday. The 40-year-old quarterback, one of a seven-man New York Jets Pro Bowl contingent last season, is now an 11-time all-star (a record for quarterbacks) and has been honored as a member of three different teams since 2007.

The Pro Bowl will be played Jan. 31 in Miami, the first time the game will be held before the Super Bowl, which will kick off in Dolphin Stadium a week later. That twist will eventually mean accolades for other players - Pro Bowlers from the two Super Bowl squads will be introduced at the exhibition but won't play. Their absence will open roster spots similar to the way injury replacements are named, so eight more players could potentially garner recognition if, for example, the Vikings reach Super Bowl XLIV.

Despite winning the AFC North, no Cincinnati Bengal was picked, a snub wide receiver Chad Ochocinco embraced on his Twitter account: "Bengal fans we wouldn't be abe (sic) to play in it anyway! SUPER BOWLBABY!!!"

This will be the first time the Pro Bowl won't be played in Honolulu since 1979.

Favre's replacement for the Green Bay Packers, Aaron Rodgers, was honored for the first time, but the New Orleans Saints' Drew Brees is slated to start for the NFC. He will be opposed by 10-time Pro Bowler Peyton Manning of the Indianapolis Colts.

Twenty-one selections are first-timers, including rookies Jairus Byrd (Buffalo Bills), Brian Cushing (Houston Texans) and Brian Orakpo (Washington Redskins). Philadelphia Eagles star DeSean Jackson qualified as both a receiver and return man - a Pro Bowl first - meaning the NFC can add a player to its roster.

Comments are closed.